Newbie Guidance

Good Morning- I am new to SmartThings and just joined this community. There is so much great information - it’s just overwhelming but I’m afaraid I can’t see the forest for the trees! For example, I have a Schlage Connect lock and am really interested in enhancing it with a Smartapp (I think that’s what I need to do) but don’t know where to start or what to do. I hate to ask a bunch of dumb questions right off the bat (I’ll do that later), and was wondering if there are resources for beginners that can help me get up to speed. I appreciate any help/advice. Thanks!

1 Like

Welcome to SmartThings. There are two apps available for locks you should check out.

There is a free version from @ethayer

There is paid version from @RBoy

You should check out both.

:slight_smile:

5 Likes

Welcome! :sunglasses:

As you’ve noticed, SmartThings is very powerful, but not very intuitive. But you can always ask questions in the forums and people will be glad to help.

@jkp has given you good advice on the locks.

On a more general level, here are two good resources for newcomers.

First, this describes the various options for controlling your devices ( this is a clickable link):

Next, if you look in the community – created wiki at the quick browse lists in the project report section and look at the list for “get started” you’ll find lots of topics of interest to new people. Everything from “the top 10 things to do with SmartThings” to an “impress your friends” List. Lots of topics, both practical and just for fun stuff.

http://thingsthataresmart.wiki/index.php?title=How_to_Quick_Browse_the_Community-Created_SmartApps_Forum_Section#Quick_Browse_Links_for_Project_Reports.2FQuestions

The quick browse lists are always a good place to start, but again if you can’t find what you’re looking for, there will always be forum members who are glad to help.