Newbee, Having issue turning light on using motion sensor

hi, i am new to the Smartthings but doing ok so far. one thing i am struggling with is turning a light on with a motion sensor.
so i have both item linked and both work individually. one is my workshop motion sensor and one is a smart plug which is turned on and has a flood light plugged into it. i can turn the flood light on and off manually and motion sensor works find and sends me push notification when alarm is armed etc.
i want the motion sensor to trigger the flood light when alarm is armed. i managed to get it to work using an automation, however the light doesn’t turn off again! and has to be done manually on the app. so i decided to using the smartapp ‘smart lighting’.
however i have set it all up and it doesn’t seem to work. my motion sensor is setting my alarm off, but light does not turn on. not sure if i am doing something wrong or not.

made a new lighting automation
which lights - garage flood light (smart plug)
what do u want to do - turn on
select trigger - motion sensor
turn on when - motion starts
turn off after motion stops - switched this on
after this number of mins - 1min

in the more options I

only when mode is - away and night

and that was it
 but it doesn’t work!

any help?

regards
Dave

When you click into the Smart Plug device and then navigate to SmartApps tabs - do you see the Lighting rule assigned to the plug? This at least proves that the rule is assigned to the right device. Are there any restrictions (such as mode or times) maintained?

I’m not sure what this means? Are you talking about Smart Home Monitor?

Also when you tested you smart lighting were you in night or away mode? You have those restrictions on the automation.