New to Smartthings - how to automate?

Hi all,

I am new to Smartthings and got the Hub and 2 multi- sensors and two outlets. I got it because Amazon was having a sale and I want to automate a few things in the house, but don’t know where to start.

So far the multi sensor are being used and from reading this forum I was able to add the sonos to play a siren when the door opens with the sensor installed.

I want to be able to control my lights in the kitchen, foyer, living room and bedrooms. Using the outlet feels like a waste for a lamp and I am thinking of returning them, unless you guys can tell me how to make the best use of it.

I also bought google home and want o be able to voice control the lights to turn on or off. I don’t have dimmers, but but would also like to dim the lights in certain rooms.

How can I do all this and also what else do I need to buy? I have seen a few videos on youtube where they even turn the tv on? how?

Do I have to buy Philips hue bulbs, which may be expensive for me to replace all the recess lights.

I would also like to set up a camera to view the outside and monitor inside as well, would like something can record locally and not have to pay for cloud service and be able to watch live stream of the video to check on pets etc.

Looking for suggestion from owners who currently have similar setup.

To save me searching the forum how did you incorporate a siren into Sonos?

You go to marketplace and then music and sounds and select speaker notify with sounds. You can select the built in sounds from there.