Do I need SmartThings?

Hi

I’m new to smart homes and thus far have only bought an Echo Dot. Ok that’s not entirely true I’ve ordered a SmartThings starter kit as it was on offer and I’m awaiting delivery. I’ve spent a number of hours taking in as much info as i can on SmartThings and other smart home stuff but still not fully understood on what SmartThings can do that hue or harmony or sonoff or etc etc can’t do on their own.

For example, i would probably want a basic sonoff switch on lights in some of my rooms, and i understand these can talk direct to Alexa. I would get Hue for the lights that i want a bit more control over. I would get a harmony hub to control TV and change channels. I understand Alexa is coming to Sonos to control music.

I would look at a “movie night” mode for example where i would want the TV and devices turned on, lights dimmed, maybe music off. I believe this can be done without SmartThings.

Ive not really come across anything “cool” that is selling me the virtues of a SmartThings connected home. I haven’t come across anything i would use a connected plug socket for, or a temperature sensor. i did read about having a smoke alarm turning lights on, which i liked. And motion detector, but i see hue can do this.

I’m wondering if I’m missing a trick, that maybe SmartThings opens up options for cheaper devices, or perhaps I’m just not appreciating what a smart home can do. All the articles i read seem to sell the ability to operate lights and other sensors from anywhere in the world, but i don’t see the point.

What am i missing? Should my mind be broader?

Thanks, Kris