New to HA - what do I need?

Hi,

I am very new to Home Automation and considering getting a Smartthings Hub. I want to start with controlling my front porch lights to automatically turn on when its dark, and turn off when there’s light. What do I need besides the hub?

I am assuming I need a smart light switch? If so which one? Do I need any special kind of bulbs?

thanks for the help!

Hi there!

Welcome to the SmartThings Forum!

The simplest solution would be to switch out your in-wall switch with one of these.

That’s a switch from GE that uses ZigBee. It can talk to our hub so that you can control it remotely and schedule it to turn on/off.

That switch should also support whichever bulbs you have now.

Depending on your light setup, you could change the bulb(s) instead of changing the switch. One example would be the Cree bulb, though I don’t believe it (or any similar ZigBee bulbs) are rated for outdoor use.

Let us know if you have any more questions, or feel free to email support@smartthings.com and they can help you get started.

Just an FYI… My Wink bulb and Fibaro motion sensor have been on my covered porch for about 6 months… they have worked great for that purpose. :smile:

What is a “Wink” bulb? You mean GE Link? These are rated for outdoor use. I have them too out on the porch and they are working great with ST hub!

1 Like

Do GE Link Bulbs work with the smartthings hub? If so, would I just need the bulb and not swap out the light switch?

Yes and Yes. 12345678

Yes, Link Light, sorry about that… :frowning:

1 Like

As said, you only need one or the other: smart bulbs or smart switches. There are pros and cons to both.