New Build - Lighting (UK)

Hi

We are in the UK and are in the process of building a house after knocking the old one down so are currently looking at ST as a solution for automating the house.

I am new to ST but am a coder by trade so not too concerned about having to code the odd thing here and there but are struggling with the light switches option.

I am also quite old school in that if I go into a room and want to dim the lights or turn on the bedside lamps I don’t want to have to use my phone or find a remote. Don’t get me wrong I also want all the cool app control stuff and the ability to control the house from your phone and turn on lights when you approach the house etc. However a switch(es) by the door should be able to control the room

I can see there are a minimum of 2 requirements I need

1. A physical on/off switch on each circuit (this is a new build so nothing exists)
  2. A device that connects that circuit to ST

I see this can be achieved by
1- Micro relays behind standard off the shelf switches. I don’t particularly like this option because
-I need to pay for both a switch and the relay
-How does a physical dimmer work?
-I would need another device to do anything interesting like activate wall sockets

2- Use a battery powered switch such as the Popp described in the thread below. However, this would still require a physical on/off switch on the circuit. Great solution for beside the bed.
([Release] Z-Wave.me, Popp, & Devolo Wireless wall Controller & Key Fob (EU), with button controller dimming apps and CoRE integration)

3- Somehow merge the 2 together. Something like the TKB Dual paddle wall switch would be ideal because the 1 st switch is the physical dimmer and the 2nd switch can be used to do whatever eg control bedside lamps. However

• It requires a 3 wire circuit. Probably not a problem on a new build (just need to specify now)