Need a smartthings relay? Check this Digital Loggers device out (new to me)

Hello all, wanted to share a wonderful product I found by accident

Enclosed AC/DC Power Relay with Protection & De-Bounce. Screw Terminals. 120V Trigger Input. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017743I7S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_UH9PCb8XDNSTH

The tl:dr if you have something that needs a relay (perhaps something that would otherwise be controlled by a thermostat as in my case) combinging this with the smart plug of your choice is the way to go.

I happen to be using it with a ARGO controller that’s connected to a Navian instant hot water heater that runs my heating.

(Basically I was too lazy to mess with sangoma relays and fortrezz was more expensive and I had plenty of ST compatible plugs :))

3 Likes

Is this UL or ETL listed?

I don’t believe so as far as I can tell

They’re good. I’ve been using 2 of them for like 6 months with absolutely no issues.

1 Like

Looks cool! I bet there are lots of good uses for this…

Could have used this in a couple of “hacks” that I’ve implemented.

Here’s one were I used a step down 120v to 24v transformer then a 24v relay to open/close the valve for my fireplace. This is connected to Smart Switch thats going to a dumb plug to turn on power to the Fan.

I don’t understand how you would use this. Wouldn’t it still have to be controlled with a smart plug or something to apply the 120v to get it to trigger the relay on? Wouldn’t it just be easier to wire whatever you want to control to the smart plug? If you usecase, couldn’t you just power the transformer with a smart plug and get the same functionality?

Smart plugs will output 120v…What if you just need a way to open/close a circuit? Of course you could use a Zwave or Zigbee relay but those cost upwards of $40…With this, the Smart Plug will open/close the circuit with or without supplying voltage. Great for low or no voltage operations.