Multipurpose sensors range

I recently bought a used SmartThings Hub v2 along with two multipurpose sensors and a motion sensor (the squared one with the sensor in the corner).

The problem I have is that all these sensors have an astonishingly short range. They work pretty much ok if they are in the same room, but as soon as I put them behind a wall (any wall), even if it is 1 metre away, they completely stop reporting.

I live in the UK and here internal walls can be bent by blowing at them, so I really doubt that they are able to block radio waves so effectively. Also, I have other wireless devices (Hue) all around the house that have no problems communicating with their hub (which is installed close to the Samsung one).

Since I am really new to SmartThings, I donā€™t know if I am missing something here.

All sensors are original SmartThings sensors (it seems) and they all have new batteries.

If this is really their true performance, I must say I am really disappointed.

Any suggestions?

Iā€™m UK, using the same sensors. Zero issues with range. My hub is in the garage / workshop on the ground floor, the house has 3 levels and my sensors work great on the top floor.

Try to reboot the hub and check the sensor batteries. You should be able to get atleast 30ft from them. You can try adding a simple ZigBee plug which acts as a repeater and does wonders for your mesh.

Thanks, I did actually reboot it several times, and the batteries are all new (though they are not of a known brand).
Is there any way to check what signal the base is getting from the sensors, before spending even more money on repeaters?

Check the device list in the ideā€¦ the closer to 0 the better

2 Likes

Thanks, that is really useful, I am completely new to ST.
Having checked it, the sensor I am working on now shows a Last Hop RSSI of -77 and itā€™s sitting literally next to it (20 cm away). Any explanation?