Multiple V2 Hubs

I’ve been seeing a couple other posts with similar problems but i was hoping someone could help me make sure I’m out of luck haha.

So i have two V2 hubs. My main hub is in my house and hard wired to my router. i’ve been using it for a few years and its great. I just rebuilt my garage and its just outside of the range of my router, but i really want to get it onto the network for my devices and wifi. I assumed that i would be able to hard wire a new hub out there to expand my network. So i ran an ethernet cable from my router (about 100feet so im under ethernet distance) and setup my 2nd hub. It seems to workish?? Using plume i can see the hub and it says its happy, but my wifi is not any better. It seemed to help my z-wave mesh because my devices can now connect where they couldn’t before. But is there something im missing on this setup? Or do i need to rethink how to execute what I’m attempting?

Thanks in advance!

Which device? A v2 hub doesn’t use Wi-Fi?

Samsung GP-U999SJVLGDA 3rd Generation SmartThings Hub

Sorry i don’t know why I had it in my head it was a V2.

I’m starting to maybe see my issue. I need to go confirm, but my main hub is Samsung ET-WV525BWEGUS SmartThings Wi-Fi Mesh Router. I bought them a long time apart. and In my garage i have the GP-U999SJVLGDA.

Ok thats a V3 2018 hub. (not the wifi mesh hub)

It is able to connect to a wifi network (as a client) but it does not act as a wifi mesh repeater.

Also while two hubs in one location technically works, its not a supported configuration so weird stuff may happen.

So the behavior you described is expected.

If your main hub is a mesh hub, you are looking for a second mesh hub to join your network to do what you want.

1 Like

Ahh i knew i was missing something silly! Excellent, so i should be able to just get another mesh router and make it work then.

Thx for the Help, i really appreciate it.