Multi-switch to fit in single gang box?

(IsuzuCrewCab) #1

Good morning,

Total newbie to automation and am considering the ST hub.

One requirement that I have is for a couple multi-switches in 1 gang boxes (am trying to avoid 4 or 5 gang switches). I have checked a few threads looking for possible solutions but most of them are quite old and I assume that things have changed.

The only switch that I can find is this one https://www.amazon.com/Leviton-VRCS4-M0Z-4-Button-Remote-Controller/dp/B0050T2O1O.

Are they any other suggestions and what do you use to program them?

Thanks

Steve

Welcome! :sunglasses:

Did you notice that device is called a “scene controller”?

That’s because it does not control current for four different circuit branches.

In fact, it doesn’t turn the current on and off at all.

Instead, each button press sends a message to the hub and then the hub sends a message to the individual Devices, typically smart switches elsewhere in the house. So it’s not a 4 relay device in a single gang size. It’s a button controller stuck on the wall and drawing power from the mains.

So I just wanted to check first and see what you really needed for a “multi-switch.”

In most parts of the US, there are code limits as to how many wires can be in a single gang box. As far as I know, most of these would limit you to two relays in a single gang size, but you would need to check your local township.

If you just want four buttons in a single gang size to control switches on other circuits, there are a number of device possibilities for that. I don’t know of any smart device compatible with SmartThings that would let you handle four circuit branches in a single gang size, though.

@Navat604 or one of the other electricians in the community might be able to say more.

(IsuzuCrewCab) #3

@JDRoberts, thanks for the response.

Ok, so then yes, what I am looking for and can anyone suggest any other options?