Motion Detector app

I’m looking for a motion detector app that will do the following:

I Have 3 motion detectors (1 on each floor of the house) and I’m looking for a motion detector app that will bypass SMS or push notifications if movement is first detected on a particular motion detector.

For example, when ST is set to “Good night” mode if someone goes downstairs during the night for a glass of water I do not want to be notified, however, if any of the motion detectors is triggered first then, I do want to be notified.

Does such app exist or can someone create one please?

1 Like

I can do this… Or would you prefer to do it together and learn a bit of SmartApp programming? In the second case, you’ll be able to tweak the app until it does exactly what you want if your requirement changes, etc…

Either way is fine with me :smiley:

… CP / Terry.

Thank you for taking this on tgauchat. To be be quite honest, I would rather see you do it as I have no knowledge of Groovy at all. However, I’m an excellent tester and I will also create a snapshot of what the app should include, most of it will be pre existing code available from ST.

Sure!

Go ahead and send the details, snapshots, etc.

We can do the communication here to share as Community education, and/or take offline to Private Message or email…

… CP/Terry.

I’m interested in this for education. If I can offer a starting point I think the stock smart security app has sections to recognize resident vs intruder movement. But I would be concerned that the resident motion has to be recorded as an event that could be checked for longer than just not active motion. The new ST motion has a reset of 12 seconds. So that would seem too fast of a reset because it would reset before you could get downstairs for water. Just a thought.

Thanks, Greg!