Modify Multipurpose Sensor Device Handler?

I’m pretty new to Smartthings, and am not a programmer or coder, just a “tinkerer”. Anyway, I am using 2 Smartthings Multipurpose Sensors for vibration only, and to keep things clean looking I don’t want to mount the magnet next to it. Ultimately what I would like is to remove the contact sensor option completely, and in my list of devices on my mobile app (iOS) I would like it to show in the list Active/Inactive instead of Open or Close.
I have searched the forum and haven’t found anyone who’s modified the device handler yet, and was just wondering if anyone knew of such a modified device handler. I would also be willing to modify it myself if I knew what I was doing :slight_smile:
Or is this even an option?

Definitely an option and pretty easy.

It will no longer execute “locally” though.

I’m OK with it not running locally. Neither one are critical.
If it’s pretty easy, would you mind pointing me in the right direction on what to change?

You can go into the IDE, edit your device handler and change which tile to be the main default. You can probably make vibration the main for your device. Look for something like below in the code.

main “humidity”
details([“humidity”, “temperature”, “battery”, “refresh”])

No luck. The only things I could find remotely like that were the tiles and their attributes, but when trying to rearrange them I got errors after trying to create.

Here’s what I did, maybe this will help:

1. Log into your IDE
  2. Select Device Handlers
  3. In the top right hand, click on Create New Device Handler
  4. From the tabs, click From Template
  5. Scroll down the long list of device handlers until you find SmartSense Multi
  6. Click on it, then scroll all the way back up to the top, you should see some code
  7. Press Command-F (on a Mac ) Ctrl-F (on Windows) for Find
  8. Type in “main” (without the quotes)
  9. You should see the following:
  main(["contact", "acceleration", "temperature"])