Modify battery operated device for wifi control

I have a garden sculpture illuminated by 11 LEDs in series, and powered by four 9 V batteries in series (i.e. 36 V). I would like to be able to control this from inside my home. I studied a previous post on this topic from May 2017 but the only solutions I saw there would require me to modify the power source to ‘mains power’ (which I am understanding to mean running wires to it from my home 110 AC power supply). This is not an option. Does anyone have a solution for me that will allow me to have wifi control of this battery powered device without hard wiring it for 110 AC? thanks!

Most battery powered Wi-Fi devices can only run for two or three hours without needing a battery recharge or a new battery because Wi-Fi is just very power-hungry. That’s why you don’t see many battery powered Wi-Fi lights, for example. There are obviously some such as the Wi-Fi cameras, but those use much more expensive technology.

Does it have to be Wi-Fi? This forum is for people who are using the Samsung smartthings ™ home automation platform So all of the questions and answers are assumed to be in that context. If you have a smartthings hub, you might Have some options with other protocols like zigbee or Z wave.

Also, we need to know what country you are in, as the device selection does vary somewhat.

If you are not interested in getting the Samsung smartthings platform, then I suggest you ask your question in the Reddit home automation sub forum. They are brand agnostic.

1 Like