Missing something basic

Hi all,
I’m not new to programming, but i’m new to webcore. I’m having trouble understanding exactly how and when an piston executes. My inclination is to do something like “if switch is on, then turn on lights”. But this would require constant poling of the switch value, but i’m not sure if that actually happens? I get that it can be event driven, but does mean that the outter loop of every piston should be an event trigger? If that’s so then i shouldn’t start by polling for “if time is after 10pm” since that isn’t an event. But if i have an event trigger on the outside and an inner loop for some other condition, what would cause the repeated running of the loop to check for a state change of the condition?

The examples ive found so far aren’t totally allowing me to get it. I’d post an example, but i don’t see how to insert my copied code from the dashboard. Do i need to copy and save it as a pic and host it online somewhere?

Thanks!

also post on the webcore forum, those folks love talking everything in regards to it

I generally prefer to use “if switch changes to on”

2 Likes

In most cases, whether it’s a piston or another smartapp, there is an event trigger that the smartapp subscribes to. Such as When Switch A turns on. (As @jkp points out, not “is on.”)

All the other stuff are filters on the trigger event that indicate whether the code should run when the trigger occurs. So it becomes “When switch A is turned on” and it is after 10 pm then…

You can also have the state of a switch act as a filter. “When switch A is turned on” and “Switch B is on” Then…but in that case switch B’s state is a filter. You don’t continuously evaluate it, you only look at it when the trigger event, in this case switch A turning on, occurs. :sunglasses:

As @jkp said, The folks in the webcore forum will be happy to discuss all of the specific aspects of webcore, but that’s the general process whether it’s webcore or any other smartapp.