Looking for a method for Echo Alexa to recognize sensors

I understand Echo doesn’t recognized motion or door/window sensors. However, I have seen a video where a person had Echo tell them when a door was opened and closed or motion was sensed outside. Does anyone have a work around to allow Echo to see sensors?

That’s not an example of the Echo “seeing” any sensors, or even knowing about their existence at all. It’s an example of using SmartThings’ integration with those sensors as well as a combination of smart apps and mobile apps to “play” notifications on the Echo via a Bluetooth connection.

2 Likes

OK, so I’m not very experienced with this. Do you know of information out there that I could learn how that was done? It’s very interesting and something I’d like to try.

Yup! I have Alexa “speak” whenever certain sensors do something, like my doors, locks, and windows.

I use a spare Android device (this is important) that connects via Bluetooth to my Echo, and via LANnouncer and a SmartApp called Big Talker, my Alexa speaks to me any event I want from almost any device. Here are important links you need to set things up:

Big Talker (also has links to LANnouncer)

LANnouncer:
http://www.keybounce.com/LANdroidHowTo/LANdroid.html

https://goo.gl/photos/Htim4iAETeBQdiwb7

3 Likes

Yeah…what this ^ guy said.

2 Likes

Thanks you!

1 Like

I have “a lot” of this set up in Ask Alexa.
So i can call the status of any single device (with an alias set up so the language is more natural).

I have MANY Voice macros that report a group of devices - that I end with the word summary.
“Alexa, ask the brain for my battery summary” (these contain more than one device)
…temperature summary
…detailed temperature summary
…open / close (this is doors / windows)
…lock summary
…motion / presence summary
…hazzards summary (things that I deemed may burn my house down a motor out if left on - coffee pot, curling iron, humidifier.
etc etc

I think you get the idea.
Does that help?