Lights on when arriving after sunset & off after set minutes

Hi,

I am new to the SmartThings community and would like to have my outdoor lights automatically turn on when I arrive at home between sunset and sunrise and turn off after a set amount of minutes. I found this SmartApp that does the first half of my ideal setup: https://github.com/625alex/SmartThings/blob/master/apps/LightsOnArrival.groovy but it doesn’t turn off the lights. If you know how to write a SmartApp please help me out. I tried the different mode setup but it doesn’t work for me as they overlap.

Thank you

I don’t think you need anything special. In the app:

Tap Lights & Switches
Tap the gear icon
Tap the light you want to come on
Tap turn on when people arrive
Select the people, tap turn off after a duration and set the duration
Tap more options and set only during a certain time to something like 5pm to 5am.

Save and done.

Repeat as needed for other lights. It doesn’t use the sunset setting, but if you give yourself an extra hour or two on either side, you’ll be good year round.

1 Like

I used SmartThings Sunrise/Sunset (Mode Magic). It shows as an option under ‘Convenience’ when you go hit the + button from your dashboard. It turns on all my outdoor lights at sunset and then turns them off at sunrise. You can even specify offsets, ie turn them off 3 hours before sunrise.

Chris

Although using hard-coded times in place of a sunset/sunrise time is a workaround, it isn’t very good in northern climates where the sunset can vary over five hours through the course of the year. What I would like to see in the readily available SmartApp is a sunset/sunrise time range for turning on lights when someone arrives.

Yes, I agree and adding a time range to this: https://github.com/625alex/SmartThings/blob/master/apps/LightsOnArrival.groovy1 b would be helpful if someone can do it.