Lights & Motion Sensor in Bathroom?

Hello!

I am expecting a new Aeon Labs G5 6 in 1 multi Z-wave in a day or two and very excited. :sunglasses:

Current Setup
2 Wall Switches
2 ceiling incandescent bulbs (60W)
3 incandecent bulbs (Above Medicine Cabinet)(60W)

Will be replacing smart led bulbs or Z-wave/Zigbee either ways
I know with the switches i would probably need to involve an electrician ( As I am not an expert)

I would appreciate any input or suggestion regarding smartapps/setup.I know there is Smartapps Bathroom Lighting Control but as far as i am aware its designed for a single light.

Thanks

Pretty much anything that works for one light can be made to work for multiples if only by having one light follow the other. The first question, though is really what behavior you would like to see.

Lighting Controls are Based on Lifestyle and Personal Preference

Lighting is one of those things that’s very personal. Some people are fanatics about saving energy and they will set the lights to turn off after 15 minutes no matter what.

Some have fairly regular habits, and will set the light to turn off after 10 minutes of inactivity. This will work in some homes, and not in others.

Some people don’t bother to put bathroom lights on a schedule and all, they just have a lights out as part of the good night routine that turns off all the lights. Of course this works best when you’re the only person in the house!

Some people put light control under voice control and use echo.

Again, if you’re the only person in the house, you might like the “lights follow being” concept where lights turn on as you enter a room and off in the previous room. Not great if you have a new girlfriend staying over, however. :wink:

One of the issues with bathroom light is what you do when someone is taking a bath or shower. These are often read as periods of inactivity but of course you don’t want the lights to go off while someone is in the shower.