Light switch that works with LED lights?

(Linda Thomas-Fowler) #1

I’m new to SmartThings and home automation but have had some early success in getting things working. I’d like to replace some of our light switches to work with SmartThings so they can be controlled either manually at the switch or via ST, but it looks like the GE switch that ST sells only works with incandescent lighting. If I’ve understood the issue it’s that this switch doesn’t have a neutral and so trickles a small amount of current to keep its electronics powered up and since the LED lights use so little power this doesn’t work well.

Can anyone recommend a light switch that does work with LED lights? Both for normal switches and for 3-way wiring? I’ve done some searching through the forum but haven’t found anything but people talking about the problem.

Thanks!

(Ron S) #2

Which GE switch do you use? I use GE 45603 Z-Wave Technology Wireless Lighting Control Fluorescent Light & Appliance Module and it does work with LED along with their outdoor modules. I use some products from Aeon Labs too.

(Linda Thomas-Fowler) #3

Not currently using any switches. We have a few hue bulbs we are currently using but the cost for those compared to the cost for replacing switches has us interested in going that route (along with keeping conventional control from a physical switch).

I’ll take a look at the GE switch you mentioned. Thanks!

(Linda Thomas-Fowler) #4

That’s not the kind of switch I meant. I meant something like http://www.amazon.com/GE-Z-Wave-Wireless-Lighting-Control/dp/B006LQFHN2/ref=pd_bxgy_hi_img_z except that the linked switch needs at least 40W at the load which would kind of defeat the power savings of LED bulbs. :smile:

(Geko) #5

I use Linear dimmers with generic LED bulbs. They work like a charm.

(Ron S) #6