Leviton vs GE: is the extra cost worth it?

A number of years ago I set up ST in our old house with the hub, some light switches, outlets, door lock, and Alexa.
We have since moved but we haven’t sold our old house, so we still use ST to make it look like someone is home.
I have been dealing with some serious health issues which have resulted in cognitive and memory impairment, plus I’m no programmer.
So, I feel like I’m starting all over.
I have temporarily put in our old hub in the new house until the old one sells and I can set everything up.
For right now, I would like to put in a couple light switches to control the kitchen and garage (fluorescent) and a light switch for our outdoor floodlights (switch will control 4 lightbulbs rated at 16w,130mA each).
I went onto the ST website and there is a heavy Leviton presence there. Is that one better than the GE Z-Wave 12722 switch?
I want to get the most reliable light switch and am willing to pay the extra $10 if the Leviton is better, but if it’s not, then I’d rather get the GE and save $10 per switch and, effectively, get one free when I’ve purchased 4.
Can anyone recommend which switch is better?

1 Like

The question of value for dollar is always somewhat subjective, but there is a known problem with the GE switches in the older generations where about 15% of them would go bad in the first six months or so after the warranty ran out. This has nothing to do with SmartThings, you can see the discussions on many home automation boards for many different controllers. The devices aren’t technically defective because they are out of warranty, but still, it is a reliability issue.

Many people still feel that it’s worth it because they save enough money on the GE switches upfront that they can justify just replacing 10 or 15% of them after a couple of years if needed.