Lack of new features/integrations

I’ve been using Smartthings for a couple of years now and initially there were a glut of new integrations and features. This inevitably caused a lot of instability and consequently I reckon about a year or more ago Smartthings concentrated on stability.

I completely understand this and support that decision and the improvement in that area has been very good.

However there have been a real lack of new features, supported products and integrations in the last 12 months (especially here in the UK). As Smartthings doesn’t release any kind of roadmap the only update for new things we have is on here. I remember a post at the start of this year (I think by @slagle) stating that a lot of features and new integrations were being worked on that would be really existing for the users and would be rolled out this year.

Since then, the lack of new things is pretty disappointing. It feels like the platform is pretty static right now in terms of moving forwards and expanding.

I’d love to know the latest on this from the Smartthings team? Should we be expecting new integrations and features soon or is the focus still entirely on stability? I mean new things that affect the UK too by the way…

Glass half full view: They are continuing to work on stability issues and slowly releasing new features such as device health, waiting with each change until everything is stable before making another change.

Glass half empty view: Why would they make any changes when the community keeps writing/building stuff to get around the short comings and lack of new device support? They can jsut keep selling and advertise all the things they support even without officially supporting things (i.e. Ecobee “support” for a year without actual official support, IP camera “support” with only 7 actual cameras listed, etc).