Is there money in Smart Home consulting?

This is not a post asking about how to make money with this stuff. It’s because I’m curious of your opinions.

People ask me almost every day why I don’t start consulting for Smart Home setups. Tons of people at work ask me questions about my setup, how to do this, or how to do that. I’m actually working on a project for our CEO for a sort of IoT system for his horse stable.

I work in the tech industry, I’m a software developer, used to be a helpdesk technician. So I know how things go in the industry. I used to do consulting all the time.

My personal opinion? It’s not worth it, and wouldn’t pay enough unless you were hitting the clients with deep pockets and charging them a ton for your time…and even then…After a few homes, I could already picture the headaches…constant phone calls, troubleshooting, etc…not worth it to me.

What are your thoughts, I myself, will stick with software development. lol.

2 Likes

I’ve considered this, and what people would pay. My opinion is that your smarts would probably be better used elsewhere.

There are more expensive, comprehensive systems out there which can be put in by less skilled people.

If someone paid your going rate (at a guess) to install ST, they probably could have opted for a more expensive system at the same installed price.

Then there are the ‘niggles’…

4 Likes

There are a few community members who are doing this. And if you buy your equipment from Amazon, there’s often an installation option where you can get a local person to come install it. It’s really no different than becoming a home theater installer except right now the potential customer base is smaller.

At the low end, you’re always going to be competing against Comcast and Time Warner and the cable companies that offer home automation as a service combined with a monitored security system for $40 a month.

And of course at the high-end there’s control4 and Crestron.