I am a newbie, and I am looking for advice (lights, no neutral)

Hello all,

I just started the home automation project around my house. Started with a Yale real living lock and the smartthings hub shipped this morning. The items I want to work on are light fixtures. However, I have an older home and I see many people have these problem that they do not have a neutral in the wall switch, so I have read some alternatives of going smart bulbs instead, but that’s where I am getting confused.

The first light fixture I want to update is a 3-bulb kitchen ceiling fixture. All three are controlled by the same switch. Can someone guide on a possible solution that will not include have to call an electrician to wire a neutral to my switch?

I also want to mention that I plan on adding and amazon echo for voice control.

1 Like

I’m not an electrician so I hope someone smarter than I will correct me if I get any of this wrong. I don’t think anyone will likely tell you any advise that is contrary to what is proper via code. As I understand it, another approach to control your 3 bulb fixture is to use a dimmer switches,which does not require a neutral. They work by bleeding just enough energy through the circuit so that the electronics in the switch stay active. There are two assumptions made here: 1) that the energy permitted to flow through (to keep the control electronics active) isn’t enough to energize the bulbs. 2) The bulbs you are using are dimmable.

It sounds like you are considering bulbs for this, i would never recommend that for this as EACH bulb pairs as a single device - so when you VOICE automate / command it would take 3 commands to turn on that fixture in its entirety (in a simple set up). When a single switch controls “multiple bulbs” I always recommend in wall switches (and the majority of the time DIMMERS).
Looping in the resident electrical guru @JDRoberts too.