HTTP Get Request upon 'Simulated Button'?

Hey everybody,

Long story, I have a Soundbar which i’m trying to control with a Logitech Harmony Hub remote. Unfortunately, the Soundbar doesn’t have an IR command to jump to a specific input, it only allows you to ‘cycle’ through inputs which is unconducive for getting the Harmony Hub to get it to stop on the right input.

I’ve discovered through a bit of hacking that I can make the soundbar jump to the input I want by putting in specific URLs into a web browsers (HTTP GET Requests).

So my plan of attack is for the Harmony Hub to trigger a ‘Simulated Button’ in SmartThings. Then I want SmartThings to somehow issue the HTTP Get Request with a specific URL.

I’m very new to SmartThings and I have no idea how to go about this. Is this is a Smart App, a Device Handler, etc or what I need to do. I do have WebCore added if that would help. Please point me in the right direction.

My preference would be webcore, and you might even be able to bypass the simulated button depending on your setup.

I have several harmony activities, all exposed to webcore, which can be used as triggers.
Quick example
If you need your soundbar input set to HDMI while watching TV then webcore would look something like…

IF Watch TV turns on
Then
Make web request to URL (for HDMI)

1 Like

Great idea. Seems to expedite things a little bit. I’m new to webcore (just as I’m new to SmartThings) but I’ll see if I can rig something up tonight.

Thanks for the reply, this sounds like it may be what I’m looking for.

Something to also consider with Harmony, since devices in an activity turn on/off in sequence. It might be beneficial to adjust your power setting to turn on the soundbar first. That way it is actually on before the web request is sent. You can also add a wait in webcore, if not booted up in time.

IF Watch TV turns on
Then
Wait 5 seconds
Make web request to URL (for HDMI)