How to write an Edge Driver

I’ve been reading up about Edge Drivers and I have all the tools installed. I’ve worked through tutorials and examples of how to create, publish and install a driver. I’m not an expert but I get the gist of all that now.
What I’m now struggling with is what to code. For example, if I’ve got a Zigbee device, say a Motion Sensor, how would I know what to write? I know the sensor already has an Edge driver but what if it didn’t? Where would I start to work out what a driver should look like and do for a particular device?

Hi @ceekay

Don’t worry too much, or be in a hurry, with patience, perseverance, asking and reading and reading code and documentation, even I have managed to write edge drivers :smile:

The first thing of all is to read the documentation, you cannot expect someone to explain to you in 10 steps how to make an edge driver.

At most I going to try guide you on where to start.

The second thing is to have all the information about the device:

• Know the manufacturer and model (fingerprints), to be able to pair the device.

• What capabilities does it have, Movement, occupancy, temperature, humidity, illuminance, battery,…?

• Know which clusters and attributes of each cluster it uses to send the capabilities information.

• Know which endpoints each cluster is in, they can all be in the same endpoint or distributed across different endpoints.
    Device configuration commands must be sent to these endpoints.
    The default libraries today handle endpoints very well, as long as there are defaults that handle the capabilities of the device.

• If you do not have a manual, you can use the zigbee thing Mc driver or another similar one to see this information

• Know the documentation of how an edge driver is structured, folders and files that each folder must contain.
    If you don’t want to look for the documentation, use an existing driver as a base.