How to detect Wifi presence on Asus router to disable in-home cameras?

Hi everyone! I’m brand new here & excited to me writing my first post. My ambitions are greater than my skills, and most everything I’ve learned is from having something gone wrong.

I have the Asus AC3200 & some in-home security cameras. My family is uneasy about being watched when they’re home, and so I’d like the wifi on the cameras to be disabled when anyone in the family comes home and re-enabled when everyone has left. I don’t want an app-based solution that everyone has to install, instead, I’d like my router to detect when particular MAC addresses are on or off the network and act accordingly.

I’ve read some postings about people using Raspberry Pi, but I have no useful knowledge of what that is or how it works.

Are there any solutions out there an intermediate-novice could work with? I’m open to switching routers if there’s an inbox solution.

Thanks to everyone in advance.

There are several easy ways you can do this.

1. change your router and use Google Wifi, you can indeed turn wifi off select devices on a schedule. Probably other routers are capable as well, I just don’t know them. Have you checked in your router setting?

2. Get the CUJO firewall, this will not only protect all your devices but you can also cut off each device on a schedule.

3. Add a smart switch in front of the power source of your cameras and just cut the power off.

Best solution is probably #2, cheapest is probably #3.

Seems OP isn’t looking to disable on a schedule, but rather when people are/aren’t home.

What about using ST presence sensors and pocket sockets to cut the power to the cameras when some people are home?

marktheknife is correct. I don’t want to use a schedule, but instead use the logic:

when first device joins network disable wifi, when last device leaves network re-enable network.