How do you change the color temperature of Osram Lightify lamps using Echo?

Alexa, like most woman just doesn’t understand me. Has anyone found a way to have her change the color temperature of the Osram Lightify lamps through Smartthings? Thank you in advance for your help.

(Chick Webb) #2

I don’t think you can do it directly. I use RM rules that are triggered by virtual switches that I expose to Alexa; one for each “scene”. Then I just tell Alexa to turn the virtual switches on/off. To the extent that the platform is behaving, this works well.

Thank you for the reply. I am brand new to Smartthings and will have to research RM rules to understand your work around. Is this an app?

It opens many more doors

This is great. I assume this technology is just in it’s infancy and as time goes by, there will be more and more apps developed to include these actions without having to create them yourself. But having tools like Rule Machine at least allows you to get the job done now. Thank you for all of this information.

(Larry) #7

I use ifttt to do this…
I setup multiple rules.

ie alexa trigger color the hot tub red

etc.

I am trying to do the exact same thing here. Have a few colored lightify bulbs and Echo can control on/off and dimming natively through Smartthings but not color. I will explore RM (looks very interesting) - have already created a virtual switch labeled to turn one of the lights purple. I assume all I would need to do is create a rule that turns that light purple (assuming color controls for the actual bulb are available to set) with the trigger being the virtual switch that I would expose to Echo??

Also, I tried Ifttt and couldn’t find any way to get this to work - don’t seem to be any options in there to set colors. How did you get Ifttt to work with the Osram bulbs?

Thanks to all for your help - new to all of this.

(Chick Webb) #9