Home & family says all family present when they are not

I am new to smartthings and I just set up the app and added my two other family members iphones as presence sensors, by inviting them having them install the app and create accounts. overall that work well, but the problems is when I am on the home screen of the app, under the Home & Family section it always says “all present” even when one or more of my other family members are not home.

if I tap on home & family it will accurately show who is home though, so the presence detection is working it just seems liek it isnt being accurately reported on the home screen. any way to fix this?

That same thing happens to me… but with a twist… I use life360 so I don’t have to expose my home configuration to my parents or kid…

actually, i was mistaken all my family members were not imported correctly. Although they showed up when i went into “things” from the home screen, it was only me that was showing up in the “Home & Family” Section. I assumed that because they were showing in the “Things” section they were present in the “Home & Family” section.

the solution:

1. from the home screen i went into Home & Family
  2. then I clicked the gear icon in the upper right
  3. then I clicked on "Auto Import existing presence devices

Now they all show up correctly in the Home & Family section.

That wasnt super intuitive for me but I got it now.

1 Like

Actually now I am noticing one more related issue. My Wife’s phone is always showing up as “not present” even when she is present. This morning I just opened the smartthings app on her phone and now it seems good. So I am guessing she just closed the app. That brings up another important question… in order to use iphones as presence sensors, the smartthings app has to be left open and running in the background, correct?

App should not have to stay open.

Make sure Settings/Privacy/Location Services shows SmartThings as On or Always.