Holy Moly - has SmartThings come a long way

I got my VeraLite system up and running a few years ago. As a developer, I found their platform just garbage to work on. The Apps and UI are an unorganized mess too. I looked into SmartThings at the same time, but it was just getting going. So I stuck it out with my Vera. Did NO updates (cause it broke everything all the time on updates) and just left it alone. It worked fine really, but now I want to update it and realized it’s so far out of date and some of the plugins that I was using are no longer around.

So…starting over. I just purchased a NEW SmartThings hub and I’m throwing the Vera out once I get all my functionality up and running on the ST system…

I just scanned over the development environment. WOW! It’s awesome! Can’t wait to dive in.

I’ve got Light switches/Dimmers, Water Sensors, Honeywell Vista 20P alarm system (EVL-3). I’ve got scenes that get triggered for basic things like it’s dark out and a few scenes that trigger off the alarm events (text and email to a few users that the alarm is going off).

Hopefully I can find some off the shelf STUFF (not sure on the ST lingo yet) that get me up and running.

The only thing I’m not sure on is the Alarm Panel. I think there is a project that requires some server stuff to run between the EVL-3 and the ST hub, but I’ll have to look at that. Seems a shame to have to run another 24x7 server just to interface the 2.

Anyhow. If anyone can point me off into some:

• Basic get your system up and running docs (integrate a single light switch and get the iPhone APP running).
  • More info on “scenes” on the ST platform. For example, some info on setting up a light switch to trigger to ON when its dark and OFF when it’s dawn.
  • More info on the best way to integrate the Honeywell Vista 20P panel/EVL-3 to the ST platform.

Thanks!

1 Like

The person you seek is @JDRoberts. He is pretty much the local go to encyclopedia for home automations.

Welcome to ST.

7 Likes