Heat sensors?

I’m brand new to smart things and working to repurpose an old alarm system using the konnected system. The house has heat sensors in the kitchen, garage, utility room and laundry room; these are quite old and I don’t think can be wired to the konnected board. So, given that, wondering if there’s something else available. My Google fu is failing me except for something like the Nest protect but even that is not recommended for these areas. I have ecobee sensors in other rooms right now. I wonder if the multi sensor or the temperature probes can be programmed via rules to act as a rate of rise sensor? Or is there another option? Thanks for any help!

How is this different from a normal temperature sensor, such as used by a thermostat? Most home automation temperature sensors report once every 15 minutes: I don’t know if that is frequently enough for your use cases.

Thanks! What’s there are sensors that detect if temperature goes over a give threshold, or, more uniquely if the temperature rises more than 15 degrees in a minute (suggesting a fire). They’re used when smoke detectors are unreliable (dusty, cooking areas, laundry)

Temperature goes over a particular threshold is easy, as long is you can handle that 15 minute check interval.

Rate of rise sensors for reporting periods have a minute or so are trickier. I only know of two fairly easy options.

The first is a Z wave device which is made on the US frequency, but which is intended for commercial buildings. The company, Climax, doesn’t really operate on a retail basis. But you can contact them and see if they’ll sell you a small quantity. But I don’t know anyone yet using it with SmartThings, so it would also need a custom DTH.

https://products.z-wavealliance.org/products/1809