Have SmartThings detect when device is manually switched on

Forgive my newbieness. I’ve done some coding before, so I’m familiar with programming concepts, but I’m not very familiar with networks, and this is my first attempt to set up a smart home. I found SmartThings and IFTTT as two possible ways to get some of the integration that I’m hoping for, but so far no dice for either of them.

I’d like to use a smart device is switching on (e.g. I switch on a Smart Life switch or activate a Hue bulb with a “friends of hue” switch) to trigger other actions (e.g. turning on another smart switch). So far, SmartThings has looked more promising for this, but I haven’t gotten it to work with MANUAL switching.

That is to say: if I set up the logic in SmartThings and I switch the device on IN the smart-things app, then the logic proceeds as I’d expect, but if I change the switch’s status manually in the real, physical world, the automation does not take place. I should note that I’ve been attempting this with the SmartThings and IFTTT apps only: I don’t currently own a SmartThings hub, but if that’s what it takes to get this sort of logic to work, I’m more than happy to purchase one.

You need to look at why the switch isnt reporting status. SmartThings as a platform doesn’t differentiate between manual on and programattic on (it used to but it was poorly implemented by manufacturers so they depricated the feature years ago)

So that means whatever automation you have isnt triggering simply because your device isnt updating status.

Device model matters. So whats the EXACT model switch/bulb/whatever you’re using and how are they connected.

1 Like

So far, I’ve tried and failed to get this to work using the status of:

1. A Treatlife DS01 smart dimmer connected to wifi and connected to SmartThings via Smart Life.
  2. A Hue LTA003 bulb connected to Hue Hub and Hue App.
  3. A Hue LCE001 bulb connected to Hue Hub and Hue App.