Hardwired Alarm Sensors & Arduino

(Mweston) #1

I’m trying to find a guide on setting up hardwired door and window contact sensors that are already prewired to a GE alarm in my home. There’s a few threads on it but they are a bit all over the place and I’m not sure where to start.

I came across this ST shared app in the IDE: https://github.com/coolkev/smartthings-alarm

The readme makes it sound pretty simple but I’m looking for more details. Not sure if this is a working app or if anyone is using it.

Ideally I’d like to take an arduino things shield and wire each of my alarm sensors to it. Possible? Any instructions on how?

Thanks

(Mweston) #2

Here’s what I’ve been given to work with:

I’ve never used an arduino before so my knowledge of it is limited…

Based on that github link it sounds like I should attach wires from the “COM” screws on this board to ground. Not sure if that means there is a ground on the arduino or they just need to be grounded in general. Then each of the 4 zones should go to ports on the arduino.

So I’m guessing its much easier to send each zone to smartthings rather than every door/window individually. Each sensor by itself would be really nice but at least it would be better to have zones than nothing at all.

(David Creed) #3

@mweston Check out this project, you should be able to use most of the code for the Arduino and Device Type.

(Cooper Lee) #4

The best way I can recommend to do this does not utilize the arduino at all… If you know how to use a soldering iron then buy one SmartSense Multi for each zone and solder 26 awg wire (or one pair out of a CAT-5 cable) to both sides of the magnetic sensor then connect one side to common and the other to each zone trigger. This is much more reliable, bit less effort, and better integration with ST.

Connecting Existing Open/Close Sensors To New SmartThings Hub