Fibaro Dimmer No Load with Hue Bulb (UK Bathroom)

I am trying to get confirmation here. So for my bathroom I have a Hue bulb. I want to fit a momentary pull switch to a Fibaro Dimmer 2 and not have any load on it. the Bathroom will be set to always powered.

However I believe the FD2 will not work as it needs to see a load for calibration.

The other option is just to use a relay option maybe but I would like to be able to configure Hold or double click options for scenes.

Any confirmation? @anon36505037 as I believe you are quite knowledged on these.

Thanks All

2 Likes

I’m new to this but have recently installed the FD2 on a set of downlights.

I don’t understrand why you need the FD2 with a hue bulb - I think the whole point of the FD2 is that it makes dumb bulds smart - I had 8 downlights on mine.

However, regarding load, the FD2 needs at least 250w I think, so as my downlights are LED I needed to add the Fibaro Bypass to the lighting circuit to make the load acceptable
 Once added the FD2 calibrated and worked perfectly.

It’s purely for my bathroom.

I want to keep the pull switch as it’s intuitive. But need it to be dumb. Not connected. I have heard you can use the bypass as a loop to live and it thinks there is load. So that might work. But not sure.

So, you want to turn the FD2 into a button controller then. That’s a damn expensive use of a FD2. You would then have to “mate” the FD2 to the Hue bulb to control it. That wouldn’t be automatic. Personally, I would just use the FD2 or the Hue bulb. Not both. The FD2 can be wired to an external switch. I don’t see why that could be a pull-style switch.