Europe - Temperature and humidity sensor. Are Xiaomi Sensors “Plug and Play” with SmartThings?

Hello all.
I’m from Europe and I just ordered a SmartThings hub (v2 UK).
I’m no expert in programming and I would like to start to create a smart home with smart capabilities using temperature and humidity sensor, followed by some smart plugs and then motion and contact sensors.
1st problem - I’ve been looking for information for days and tryed to follow some regarding the Aqara (from Xiaomi) but in the end some day it works others don’t and I don’t have a clue if I should order them or not…
Are the Xiaomi sensors easy to install?? Is it plug and just pair with the SmartThings hub to check theyr info???
Does anyone has any other documentation?
How can I just know if they are ready for SmartThings?
Sorry for all this confusion from a newb…

Thanks in advance
Best Regards
Toranja

Hi Toranja,

Xiaomi devices work fine with the Smartthings Hub v2. I have 4 door/window contacts, 3 humidity/temp sensors, 4 buttons (2 newest version), 3 power plugs, a 2 button wired switch (1 button working), 3 body sensors and a Xiaomi Cube in use and it all works without any problems for me. Pairing can take some time but the aqara devices I use all paired in 2-10 min. Until now experienced no disconnects. Related to the possible wifi interfering problems reported: I have a Fritzbox 7290.

Hi Gert.
Thanks for the feedback :slight_smile: I just got a aqara for temperature and humidity, a motion sensor and also one for the window… :smiley: cool !!!
Regarding the install/ pair did you followed some tutorial? I think we need a special handler, or not?
Thanks for your help
Toranja

Short answer: no, they are not plug and play.

Long answer: read up here

Hi,

Just install the right Device Handlers (DH). I use the “bspranger : Xiaomi Aqara …” DH’s.