Enerwave ZWN-RSM2 on 3-way master switch?

(Joshua Rountree) #1

I’m just curious if anyone has this setup or would know enough to help me get it working in a 3-way setup…?
From reviewing this product, it would appear it’s capable of being used single handedly to allow a 3-way switch + it’s slaves to trigger via z-wave?

(Csb0xc4rs) #2

They have a configuration posted on-line which involves replacing one of the 3-way switches with a 4-way switch. I am using an alternative, and somewhat unconventional, approach that is working extremely well. I will have to detail it later but I’ll try my best to describe it here (along with this common footnote that I AM NOT an electrician).

I needed to find an alternative to the typical zwave switches on the market because I am using black switches and preferred to continue to use the same looking switches wherever I implemented automation. This of course led me to the ZWN-RSM2 and ZWN-RSM1S relays.

Couple other points of clarity about the pre-install configuration: My hot circuit enters switch box 1, the 2 travelers and neutral head over to box 2, then from there, we power the lights from box 2. In my case, there is no always-on hot (black wire) in box 2 by default.

Here is how I accomplished 3 way switching using a single RSM2 and 2 traditional single-pole switches (technically you could use the existing 3-way switches but you would need to understand the switches switch position and hot connections.).

The hot circuit comes into box 1. I cable the line (black) to the bottom of a single pole switch (switch 1). I also connect the black traveler to the bottom of switch 1 to get an always-on hot circuit to pass through to box 2. Then, I connected the existing red traveler to the top of switch 1. At this point, heading to box 2, is a red wire that is only hot when switch 1 is switched on. and the black wire which is always hot (on).