Default Operation of Things when they are Dumb

Hello Everyone!

Rookie Home Automation user alert!

Undertaking an extensive remodel of our townhome and we’ve decided on a Samsung SmartThings hub with Leviton switches and outlets.

Assuming I have Leviton “smart” switches and outlets throughout the house, what happens to them when the Samsung SmartThings Hub is:

1. Not working/present/dead/unpowered
  2. Powered but ot connected to the Internet

I’m sure this is an obvious question but as a rookie, I need reassurance…

THANKS!

The short answer to your question is it doesn’t work unless the hub is up, running, online, and with a working internet connection.

The long answer is a lot more complex. There are some devices that run locally. Here is a link to some information on the subject. I’m sure others that have researched this issue more that I will give you some additional and more authoritative information.

1 Like

Welcome! It’s a good question. :sunglasses: It depends on the specific brand and model of the switch, as well as how you have installed it.

The Master Switch

A “master” switch is generally installed as a load controlling switch, which means if the Internet is off or if the SmartThings cloud is unavailable or if your smartthings hub is removed altogether, The switch still works just like a regular dumb switch would work. Turn it on and the light fixture comes on. Turn it off and the light fixture goes off. However, that only applies to using it just like a dumb switch and physically using the switch on the wall. You won’t be able to use the phone app to control the switch.

Any special features, like a double tap to turn on a light in another part of the room, or the single tap normally turning on several lights on several circuits might or might not work, but probably won’t work.

An auxiliary switch in a three-way lighting set up, like one Switch at each end of the hallway that both control the same light