CoRE not recognizing Arlo Pro as a Camera device

I have Arlo Pro camera working just fine with SHM and as a “thing” in the ST app - but CoRE doesn’t recognise the Arlo as a Camera device. Anytime I try build a piston and choose the Camera capability, I get a “There are no devices with this capabilty” message. The cameras DO however show up in the “Switch” and “Motion Sensor” capability. Is it possible to have CoRE recognise the cameras to use the recording action when triggered by something?

Is there any other SmartApp that exists which could control the Arlo’s independently from SHM?

You can use all device commands regardless of the capability used to select it - the DTH should declare the Image Capture capability…

I’m trying something like this also with my regualar Arlo camera and I’m not seeing the image capture listed. Granted I’m still a noob with CoRE but I have made some pistons before that are working fine. When I setup my basic piston to wait for movement on a motion sensor and then I have it selected to select switch of the Arlo cam. The task for this I thought would be recordClip(…), but I do see a capture(…) option above it too. Is that what you were referring to? Would capture give me a single still shot versus the video?

Same problem with me. I have Samsung smart cam. it works with STH app but in the CoRE App, the camera is not listed in camera section.

1 Like

I also have Arlo, and when I select Camera capabilit it doesn’t list the cameras, and says “You can’t currently add this”.

I suspect it’s due to the cameras being added through the Arlo app, instead of directly to ST hub, but I’m a n00b, so that’s just a guess…

You can use all device commands regardless of the capability used to select it - the DTH should declare the Image Capture capability…

I’m not quite sure I understand that you mean.