Controlling garage doors

I have set up the following piston. I initially had the 1st part only (detecting presence) which seemed to work. I decided to create a new piston to add the condition if the door is open for more than 10 minutes it should close.

When the “Else-if” reports “True” the door does not close. However if I press the “Simulate” button, the door closes.

Please help.

Just as a note related to what you’re doing, I’ve seen several cautions here from users about using presence detection to manage locking/opening doors and things like that - folks have noted that they have been woken up by doors unlocking when they are home in bed (ST thinking they have just arrived).

You could have your garage open when you were away (false positive arrival/presense) and worse, garage close when your car/bike/neighbor is near it.

2 Likes

I am not an expert. What if you did this in a basic piston with two groups separated by a or (or as an or if piston).

If
{Door is Open and presence changes to not present}
Or
{Door is open and door did not change in last ten minutes}
Then
Using garage door close
Send notification

It also feels like you could use a wait 10 mins on the door in the second bit.

So do you want the second condition to happen no matter what the state of presence?

That’s correct

I’m only wanting to use it to close the door. To avoid driving off and leaving the door open. Or just keeping it open

Change your Else-If to a But-If statement. A But-If is handled as two seperate evaluations.

Drop DID NOT CHANGE in the last 10 Minutes from you evaluation condition.
Add WAIT it 10 minutes to the Then Statement.
Also Set TCP to Cancel on State and Condition Change.

Adding the TCP option will cancel the 10 minute wait if someone leaves or Door cahnges to closed. Hope this helps.

1 Like

Thanks for your response @logeox.

I don’t see a “But-If” option. Only And, Or, Then, Else. Just want to make sure I select the correct one.