Controlling ancient 4 wire apartment buzzer (un-lock only)

Ever since I moved into my co-op I wanted a way to upgrade the existing 4 wire apartment buzzer / intercom system to allow the outside door to be unlocked with my phone. I pulled the trigger on the SmartThings hub and a few add ons and I was thinking of ways to integrate the two together.

The device I was considering to make this possible is a Linear FS20Z-1

and I was looking to combine it with this:

I’m not an electrician but when I took the panel off it appears to be a 12v and three other wires, each one triggering an action using a momentary push button. What I’d like to do is wire in the Linear device which seems easy enough, power ground and neutral (which I’ll get from an outlet and a hacked PC power cord, then using the two “blue” wires, create a jumper from the 12v to the “door” button. Seems that the circuit will handle low voltage just fine from what I’m reading and it’s a simple normally open connection.

The app side of it seems simple, just a button to turn on the switch, put in a 5 second delay, and turn it back off.

Has anyone done something like this before? Do I have my thinking correct?

3 Likes

This is a genious idea!!!

I think this should work for you. All the button does is complete a circuit. So completing the circuit with a momentary switch = same thing as using the button.

Excellent… Just ordered the switch. My hub isn’t even in yet but should be arriving today… I can’t wait to get started. Should be useful not just for letting myself in but guests, my buzzer is right at the front door, it’ll be nice to not have to run across the apartment to let someone in. I’ll need to eventually combine this with a Yale deadbolt so I can not only get in the building but also my apartment with one button.

1 Like

Plus you could let someone in remotely!! :slight_smile: So thats cool!

Glad to have ya here man! Welcome! You should introduce yourself in the newcomers area!