Connecting the Nespresso EN90A coffee machine or any other European compatible coffee machine

Hi all!

Ever since I saw Mr. Hawkinson demo the connected coffee machine, I knew I had to have it done…

The problem is we have a Nespresso EN90A by Delongui… It’s a semi automatic machine. But! It has 2 buttons! One to turn the machine on/off and the other to start/stop the coffee flow…

Add to that that the wife wants that machine and isn’t willing to go back to a simple coffee pot… And my dream starts to fade away…

Until I saw the arduino shield! That opened my eyes for a bit…

But here’s the real double trouble…

A) I live in Spain! Can’t access the shield! Arrgh…
B) I’m no programmer… Would someone be willing to help me?

Or if someone knows of a coffee maker compatible with the Nespresso capsule system… And zwave enabled!!! And sold in Europe!!! I’m all ears!

Thanks!!!

Are you comfortable (safe) to do the Arduino / Nespresso physical integration? E.g. is the power button an electronic control isolated from the mains supply, or is it physically switching the mains power; if the latter, do you know how to safely do that?

If the answer to any of the above is “I don’t know” then we should stop here. Mains power, heating elements, water (& steam) and Arduinos are a great combination to quickly kill yourself or somebody close to you if you don’t know what you are doing.

The Arduino shield is Zigbee and therefore runs in the (near) universal 2.4GHz band - no need to worry about US vs. European vs. (etc.) Zwave frequencies.

The only issues I see with you accessing one would be:

• The SmartThings shop is only shipping to US & Canada - this should be
    resolveable using a reshipper such as www.reship.com, etc.
  • Whether or not it is CE certified, etc. and thus the legalities of importing
    to and operating at your location. I don’t know the status of the shield in
    this regard.
1 Like

Hey Chuck!

Thanks for the reply!