Change behavior of all smart switches in the home based on time of day?

I’m brand new to SmartThings and just trying to get the hang of how everything works. I have ~20 Zooz dimmers connected to ST. I’d like a way to set the behavior of all switches equally based on the time of day without creating an automation for each individual switch.

For example, I would like the lights to turn on to 100% when the switch is pressed between 0700 and 2000, but between 2000 and 0700 I would like the lights to turn on to 20%. Is there a way to set home-wide rules for device behavior like this?

1 Like

I just realized I misunderstood your question. Unfortunately, the answer to the question that you asked is no, there is no way to set a filter that would apply to any possible automation or other activation of any possible switch based on a particular time of day. You have to create individual automations. Each automation can include more than one switch but you still have to list each switch in an automation.

You can put a bunch of lights into a scene and activate a scene, but I realized after writing my first answer that that wasn’t what you were asking.

You can “sort of” do this with webCoRE…

Set a device list variable that includes all the switches.

If any of the “devices” changes to on
And
Time is between x and y
And mode is…
Then set lights to x%

Repeat for other times and modes…

Note that lights will come on at their last settings but change to the specified level shortly after.

You would need to be able to set just the one that came on to the time based filter, though. Otherwise some of the other lights in the list might come on when they were already off, which isn’t what you want.

Also… my concern about this kind of blanket filter, regardless of the home automation system, is that it ends up overriding what people are trying to do manually.