Can WebCoRE Edit Device Preferences?

I’m talking about the custom device ‘Preferences’ which some devices get from their device handler. Can webcore access those somehow?
For example, my Inovelli dimmer has a ‘default level’ parameter which sets the dimmer % whenever you turn the switch on. Could I edit that setting from WebCoRE so that at night if I turn on the lights they’re not as bright?

If the DTH is set up for that, then absolutely.

How do I find out? I’m very new to WebCoRE, is there maybe some custom commands or variables to access those things? Because I’m not seeing anything standing out in any of the main lists of actions for the device.

If you look at your device in the ST IDE, and your desired device parameter is listed, then you should be able to select that parameter within webcore.

Yeah I can see the settings I want to edit in the ST IDE, there’s all these and some more parameters.
So you’re saying I can somehow directly edit these values from within WebCoRE? Could you summarize the way I go about accessing and editing them, or maybe point me to a guide?

I just noticed that you are asking about “preferences.” Not sure if you can manipulate “preferences” within webcore.

Preferences of this type are usually parameter values stored in the firmware of the device itself during a configuration command.

Most devices, for security reasons, require that you physically manipulate the device in someway in order to cause it to accept a configuration change. Usually a tap pattern.

That cannot normally be done just by network commands. I don’t know if there’s something different about those models.

@Eric_Inovelli

I mean I can edit them from the ST IDE and from either app. I guess the custom DH sends the configuration command each time I hit ‘Save’ after making changes. I see a ‘device Configure’ action available in WebCoRE, but there’s no further parameters to provide for it.

I’ll tag @erocm1231 here – above my pay grade lol!

1 Like