Can I use a TP-Link HS110 to determine how often an appliance runs?

(Joe Matise) #1

I have an refrigerator that I want to monitor how frequently the compressor runs (which will draw significantly more electricity) due to some issues with the refrigerator’s functionality. I currently have a few HS100s, and was thinking of trying out a HS110 attached to the refrigerator outlet; but it’s not apparent to me if I’d be able to either use the native monitoring software, or a SmartThings app, to be able to see the watts used over time in this manner.

I don’t think it’s sufficient to tell how much is used for a day, for example; I’m not sure enough of what the wattage used by the refrigerator is during the “compressor off” and “compressor on” periods to simply do the math. I’d want to be able to see a chart showing wattage every minute or so, to see the spikes. I’m a statistical programmer and very comfortable with making charts, but I need to have a data source - happy to use built in charts if those exist, but also happy to have raw data.

Is this possible using the HS110? If not, is it possible using another smart device?

If it is relevant, I have the following other device/hubs:

• Echo dot (no hub)
  • Phillips Hue bridge (hub) and various lights
  • Logitech Harmony hub (the newer one)
  • A few HS100s, but no Kasa-related hub

I also do have a windows server that I could use for middleware if needed, though it normally doesn’t run (it’s my backup server, which I only normally turn on to do periodic local backups separate from cloud backups, but I could run it if needed for a while for this).

Thanks in advance.

(Dave Gutheinz) #2

Do you have a SmartThings? If not, not a show-stopper.

First, I am the author of the integration of TP-Link plugs, bulbs, and switches into SmartThings. So, I can speak with minimal authority.