Can I have heat by the time my alarm goes off?

Hi all, I’m fairly new to SmartThings and I have a Honeywell Wi-Fi Thermostat (RTH9585WF1004). I’m trying to figure out how to set an alarm before I go to bed and have that alarm wake me up with heat. However, if I’m to wake up with the heat then it would need to start before the alarm goes off, so I’m not sure how to accomplish this.

I don’t want to use my phone as an alarm clock, and I haven’t purchased anything to use as a connected clock. I’m thinking the Echo Show would be a great clock, but according to Amazon the alarm can’t trigger anything on its own.

Can SmartThings help with this? Basically, when the alarm is set it would need to set the heat to be a given temperature at that same time. The alarm can’t really trigger it when it goes off, because it’s too late at that point. What do you all think? Is this possible? Thanks!

the way I did it, is to put a typical desired time schedule in the thermostat built-in schedule. Such as, you would pick a time to heat 30 minutes before your normal wakeup.

Then the ST routine commands may followup with later setpoint adjustments.

Some thermostats have an “optimum start” feature which attempts to anticipate an early-start time to achieve setpoint at the scheduled time. IMO it is a complication not worth the obfuscation.

Ah, starting with the thermostat. The issue is that I work from home sometimes and keep odd hours, so my ultimate goal is to set my alarm before going to bed and have the heat keep up with that. Setting a schedule with the thermostat every night is probably more work than just telling Alexa or Google. Or some other quick method. Is there a way to start with SmartThings or a voice command?

If that thermostat can be connected to ST, then it can be set up the way you want. In ST create a routine that will set the heat to turn on at a certain time. For example, the good morning routine. Some thermostats can be voice controlled with Alexa.