Bulb triggered by phone connecting to WiFi but on a timer?

climatecontrol

(James Gudgeon) #1

Does anyone know if it’s possible to trigger a bulb to come on when your phone connects to your home WiFi but is also on a timer so it doesn’t stay on. For example a porch light would come on when arrive home and your phone connects to the WiFi network but only stays on for 5 to 10 minutes. I’m fairly new to home automation. Thanks

(Aaron Smith) #2

WebCore is your friend - this is very simple logic.

Using your phone as a presence device it will be something along the lines of:

IF phone present THEN Turn on light WAIT 20 minutes THEN turn off light.

HTH

(MarkTr) #3

If you’re willing to use the regular ST geofence presence sensing instead of WiFi, Smart Lighting will work for this (under Smartapps, lighting) - just create a new lighting automation and set a presence trigger. You can set a second automation to turn it off using Power Allowance as the trigger, which actually lets you set a number of minutes, rather than the power usage you might infer from the name.

(James Gudgeon) #4

Thanks for the info. I’ll look into both solutions. With the presence sensor, would I be able to use my phone instead of buying a new sensor?

To answer your question, yes.

To give you better clarification:

Presence Sensor: (Mobile Presence) This is using GPS from your phone tied in with the saved Location / Geofence perimeter in your ST mobile app. ST and GPS has been an issue for a large amount of ST customers. For my environment and only having one phone for presence, this has been accurate and reliable for me and has almost worked flawlessly for 1 1/2 years.