Bluetooth Raspberry Pi Speaker Box idea

(Stuart Rawling) #1

So I am very new to smart things (so forgive me if I posted in wrong category). So new, my V1 hub arrived the day before the V2 pre-order announcement. Note to self: Read the forums - and yes I ordered a V2 hub.

So I really love this system, and best of all the community. I have been installing new light switches and devices almost every day since I got the hub. Its quite the expensive hobby, but long overdue.

One thing I really want to do is to replace my simplisafe system, but am aware that this project may be something I only want to consider once V2 has some legs. In the meantime I was looking at what else I would need other than some new sensors etc. The big thing that is lacking in my opinion is a “speaker box” that plays a chime when a door opens, sensor fires, smoke detector detects smoke or whatever - just have it play something.

I know I can go buy a Sonos ($$$) and play files off the network or dropbox folder, but what I really want is a discrete speaker in my entryway. I found the following community discussions:

I am sure I could get what I needed from these, but… I think I have a better idea and wanted to get some feedback.

What I am thinking of is developing a server based on Raspberry that has a web interface to configure it and associated device type in smart things. This micro server can have audio files (or URL’s) uploaded to it via the web interface, and then smarthings can associate triggers to call based on its API. In addition, why not throw in a text to speech engine in there. The raspberry would then talk to a generic bluetooth speaker (maybe airplay, dlna down the road).

This way, we could have a box that can have audio actions triggered on request. And it would be fairly cheap to build and put together. (less than $50 i am estimating - including speaker).