Basic light and fan switch wiring

I am fairly new to home automation and this is my first hardwired device so I want to make sure Im doing everything correctly. Here is my situation. I have two switches in a double gang box. Ones switch controls the on/off for the light the other the on/off for the fan. If I want to change the fan speed I have to pull the chain. I have two GE-Zwave 14291 switches that I would like to use. I know how to wire up the light switch but Im not sure about the fan. Could someone please give me some guidance.

2 Likes

Based on your drawing, you wire both the light and fan smart switches exactly the same. The only difference is from the white (neutral) wire nut in the switch box add two new white wires that connect into the bottom neutral connector in the switches (one for each)

Thanks. That is what I thought but the red wire made me unsure. Better safe than sorry.

You’re in a good spot, you could actually use a fan controller instead of a standard on/off switch if you wanted. Leave the pull chain set to high and control fan speed through SmartThings. Not necessary, but most people want that so I thought I’d mention it.

1 Like

@destructure00 is correct. You do NOT want to use a light switch for a fan. Spend the extra $10 and get a proper fan controller.

I actually looked into buying the fan switch the only one I could find for sale is the ge 12730 this is the z-wave model. I prefer to have all z-wave plus if possible but the z-wave plus model 14287 is listed as discontinued. That is why I chose to just use a regular z-wave plus switch for the time being. Is there any reason not to use a regular switch besides the loss of the fan speed functionality? We don’t really change the speed anyway.

As far as I know that is the only reason.