Alexa skill + Smartthings

Hi,
I’ve been doing some research and I’ve found a few sites (down below) on how to make a smart home skill. I wanted to know if anyone knew how it would be possible to make a very basic Alexa skill to link to my Smartthings account. I am very new to programming Alexa skills and I would really appreciate any help

https://developer.amazon.com/public/solutions/alexa/alexa-skills-kit/docs/steps-to-create-a-smart-home-skill

https://developer.amazon.com/public/solutions/alexa/alexa-skills-kit/docs/linking-an-alexa-user-with-a-user-in-your-system

http://docs.smartthings.com/en/latest/smartapp-web-services-developers-guide/authorization.html

Just use the official SmartThings skill.

Jack. I did this about a year ago…it is a very well received and stable release.

It’s a big difference between a custom skill like Ask Alexa or EchoSistant (see below) and a smart home skill, which @cookierookie44 was wondering about… Maybe Jack can share more about what he is trying to accomplish with a Smart Home Skill that is not already covered by the official ST app.

I am confused about what values I’m supposed to put in for all the custom slots for your Ask Alexa. What values do I put in each slot?

If you go into Setting>>Setup Variables you will be presented with a web page with the values in each slot. Please note that it is probably best to do this from a PC and not your mobile device. The full instructions are here:
http://thingsthataresmart.wiki/index.php?title=Ask_Alexa#Custom_Slot_Information

Let me know if you run into issues…Also, you may want to join the discussion on the regular thread for Ask Alexa here:

Right. You might not want or need all the functionality of Ask Alexa, or you might want something completely custom that does not involve ST but still is part of a “smart home”.

Such things as voice control of a media center. If you don’t have one of the various IR interfaces such as Logitech, but have network-controllable AVR and TV.