2 Cars with 2 Garage Doors

This is my first time posting so please excuse my ignorance. Here is my issue. We have two cars that park in two different garage stalls. The problem is I only want the stall that the car parks in to open when I arrive. I thought that putting a SmartSense in each car would be the answer to this issue but even with it on my dashboard and the ST Hub directly behind the garage door and no 2.5 GHz devices near the Hub I may be sitting in the driveway for close to 2 minutes before the doors open. Currently to get around this problem. I wrote a SmartApp that uses the presence on our iPhone to trigger the open but checks to see if any cars are present and if they are it will open the opposite door of the car that is present. This works great unless there are no cars in the garage and at which time I fail back to the SmartSense and the 2 minute delay.

With all of that here is my question. Is anyone aware of a better presence sensor than the SmartSense that could be used in the cars or maybe better logic in my SmartApp. Some things that come to mind but I couldn’t figure out how to script them would be something like when the car and the person depart those presence devices are stored somewhere so when they returned the correct door is open. I am not stuck on the hardware I am currently using either so any other ideas are welcome.

I’ve got a similar setup (2 doors, 2 cars, each with a presence sensor). The thing that made a huge difference for me was putting a SmartPower Outlet right below a window on the second floor that overlooks the driveway. This outlet is only about 10 feet from my hub, but it dramatically improved recognition of the presence sensors.

Bik,