Zigbee Security Flaw

Researchers find major security flaw with ZigBee smart home devices

Don’t know if anyone else saw this, and if it’s just Engadget trying to scare up some news, but it’s interesting nonetheless. I am not technical enough to comment, but I wanted to get some thoughts.

Initial internal conversations about this are that it’s not new information and was specifically understood during the design of the ZigBee spec.

6 Likes

Yes, ZigBee pairing sequence is insecure. However practically all modern ZigBee hubs are not in pair mode by default.

The only way to join a network is to be in pair mode.

The keys are secure but the keys can be found. It requires specific software and on premise access, so not a huge risk but a risk none the less.

ZigBee has been around for over a decade, and is improving significantly in 3.0 standard.

A signal jammer would be far more effective and easier than capturing secure keys. As would breaking down the door.

Keep in mind all ZigBee attacks require local access and the hub to be in join / pair mode, and no way to hide your hack on the mesh.

It is doable but extremely difficult.

2 Likes

Thanks! And it seems to be limited to certain devices that poorly implement security. It’s always good to be aware of potential threats.

The flaw seems “difficult” enough to exploit that the targets would have to be of high value. I doubt the typical home is realistically at risk while other easier vulnerabilities exist (e.g., physical lock picking / key bumping :key:)

As stated above, the ZigBee Security is based on
the assumption that keys are securely stored, and
devices are pre-loaded with symmetric keys so
they have never to be transmitted unencrypted.
But there are exceptions to this policy. If a non-
preconfigured device joins a network, a single key
may be sent unprotected and enable encrypted
communication. This one-time transmission of the
unprotected key results in a short timeframe of