Z-Wave controlled 12 volt chicken coop door opener: ideas needed

With the demise of @JohnR 's Coop Boss, I couldn’t find any other projects with a 12volt linear actuator powered chicken door that I control with Smartthings so I borrowed from here and there to piece this together. Eventually, this will be solar powered.

I used a Fortrezz MimoLite, a DPDT relay, a 12-inch linear actuator, a small reed switch, and an old 12volt transformer for now. I used @johnconstantelo 's garage door controller because it uses the Mimolite in a latched configuration and takes advantage of the sensor to state if the door is open or closed.

I’d like to add two things… a hardwired override button to open and close just in case and some type of sensor to avoid squishing slow chickens.
I would appreciate some feedback as I am very new to building this type of project. I’m sure the design could be streamlined and would like to hear thoughts on how the two features on my wish list could be added.

The contraption works but this wiring diagram is from memory so…

3 Likes

I can already see the headlines: CHICKEN squashed due to ST Cloud Downtime!

From your schematic it appears that the linear actuator moved in one direction or another depending on polarity. The relay switches the polarity when energized. I am guessing the end of line must be implemented with something on the actuator.

If this is the case, then a simple override would be a switch between COM and NO of the MIMOlite to forcibly close the contact regardless of what the MIMOlite’s relay is doing. With just one switch you can close the MIMOlite relay but not open it. A second SPST switch in between the power source and the MIMOlite COM (this would normally be closed) would allow you to open the circuit regardless of the MIMOlite’s relay.